Comment utiliser le screen mirroring ou caster des contenus sur votre TV avec un VPN

Regardez tous vos contenus préférés sur votre grand écran grâce à un VPN

Connu sous le nom de casting, mirroring, ou par des noms de marque comme AirPlay, cette technologie vous permet de diffuser des contenus à partir de votre appareil mobile et de les regarder sur votre téléviseur grand écran. Ce guide vous montrera comment projeter vos contenus préférés sur l'écran de votre choix facilement et sans aucune configuration ou équipement supplémentaire.

Télécommande avec une TV

Le mirroring et le casting

Le mirroring consiste à projeter une copie exacte de l'affichage de votre appareil mobile sur un grand écran. Tout ce que vous voyez sur votre appareil (barres d'outils, heure et date, autonomie de la batterie, etc.) sera affiché sur le téléviseur et, en général, votre appareil doit être dédié à la projection de ce contenu. Vous ne pourrez pas l'utiliser pour d'autres tâches. Il peut également y avoir un léger décalage entre ce que vous voyez sur votre appareil et ce qui apparaît sur votre TV. Si ces contraintes ne sont pas un problème pour vous, le mirroring vous conviendra parfaitement.

Le casting, quant à lui, est une fonctionnalité intégrée dans de nombreuses applications et systèmes d'exploitation. Celle-ci vous permet de projeter une vidéo sur votre téléviseur alors que votre appareil mobile peut être utilisé pour autre chose, ou même mis en veille. La qualité et la vitesse de l'image peuvent être meilleures par rapport au mirroring, mais cette fonctionnalité n'est pas présente dans toutes les applications et sur tous les appareils. Dans certains cas, elle peut être désactivée par le fabricant de l'application ou de l'appareil pour des raisons commerciales .

Logo AirPlay sur une TV.

AirPlay

Peut-être la technologie la plus connue, AirPlay permet à la fois le mirroring et le casting. Elle est disponible sur les appareils Apple (comme les ordinateurs Mac, les iPhones et iPads fonctionnant sous iOS), mais aussi sur des applications comme iTunes. Elle peut donc également être utilisée par les utilisateurs de Windows (Les utilisateurs d’Android auront besoin d'un logiciel tiers pour utiliser AirPlay). À l'origine, vous ne pouvez utiliser AirPlay que sur une Apple TV, mais de plus en plus de Smart TV et d'autres appareils sont commercialisés aujourd'hui avec un module de réception des signaux AirPlay intégré .

Logo Chromecast sur une TV.

Chromecast

Google Chromecast est une clé électronique à brancher sur votre téléviseur. Il s'agit d'un dispositif de casting basique. Il suffit de configurer l'accès à un film, un jeu, une chanson ou tout autre média sur votre appareil mobile, d'appuyer sur un bouton pour que le contenu soit diffusé sur votre TV. Il n'y a pas d'interface TV ou de télécommande à utiliser. Comme toute application mobile Android ou iOS peut être facilement configurée avec Chromecast par son développeur, le nombre d'applications compatibles avec cette technologie a augmenté rapidement. Chromecast permet également le mirroring à partir d'un appareil Android ou Windows. Pour des résolutions plus élevées et des technologies de couleurs plus avancées, optez pour Chromecast Ultra.

Découvrez le mirroring avec ExpressVPN et Chromecast.

Le logo de Roku sur une TV.

Roku

Avec un nombre considérable d'applications compatibles, Roku est l'un des appareils de streaming les plus populaires et les plus abordables. Il se présente sous forme d'un boîtier ou d'une clé électronique qui se branche sur le port HDMI de votre TV. Les écrans de vos appareils Android et Windows peuvent être projetés sur votre téléviseur grâce à Roku. Si vous regardez une vidéo sur un appareil Android, Windows ou iOS, vous pourrez peut-être la diffuser sur la même application grâce à Roku.

Découvrez le mirroring avec ExpressVPN et Roku.

Logo Amazon Fire TV sur une TV.

Fire TV

Les appareils Amazon Fire TV, dont Fire TV Stick et Fire TV Cube, vous permettent de regarder des vidéos, écouter la musique, jouer et bien plus encore grâce à des milliers d'applications. Fire TV Stick prend en charge le mirroring à partir de la plupart des appareils Android. Les utilisateurs doivent d'abord activer cette fonctionnalité sur Fire TV Stick, puis sur leurs appareils Android (si elle est disponible), souvent appelée Miracast, mais la terminologie varie selon les appareils. Windows 10 vous offre également le mirroring sur Fire TV Stick grâce à une méthode similaire.

Découvrez le mirroring avec ExpressVPN et Fire TV.

FAQ : Le screen mirroring sur TV

Pourquoi utiliser le screen mirroring sur votre TV ?
Que faire si la diffusion depuis mon appareil ne fonctionne pas ?

Vous voulez exploiter toutes les possibilités d'ExpressVPN ?

Si vous souhaitez bénéficier d'une flexibilité et d'une fiabilité maximales pour le streaming vidéo sur votre téléviseur grand écran, pensez à installer ExpressVPN sur votre routeur. Avec une petite configuration supplémentaire, vous pouvez étendre la protection et la sécurité d'un VPN – activé en permanence – à tous les appareils Wi-Fi de votre réseau, même ceux qui ne sont pas compatibles avec un VPN, comme PlayStation, Xbox ou d'autres consoles de jeu.

HBO Now series selection screen.

ExpressVPN est un service VPN qui n'est pas destiné à une utilisation visant à porter atteinte aux droits d'auteur. Pour plus d'informations, consultez les conditions de service d'ExpressVPN.

Pourquoi les fans de streaming vidéo aiment ExpressVPN

Avatar Bruce Johnson.

J'ai utilisé de nombreux VPN, mais je n'ai pas aimé les services qui ralentissaient mon streaming ou les bugs pendant mes achats sur Amazon. Express est le meilleur VPN ! Je l'utilise sur mon IPhone, mon IPad, mon PC et ma Fire TV, le tout pour un prix très abordable.

Avatar par défaut bulles de conversation.

En dehors des utilisations évidentes comme surfer discrètement sans avoir à sacrifier ma liberté numérique, pour moi, un Anglais expatrié aux Etats-Unis, ce service VPN me permet de regarder la TV britannique, la seule chose de chez moi qui me manque vraiment !

Avatar de profil Piotr Sadowski.

La plupart du temps, je suis en dehors des États-Unis, mais j'aime regarder ma série télévisée préférée. ExpressVPN me permet de le faire partout où je suis, et je n'ai pas à m'inquiéter de voir le message d'erreur proxy sur mon écran.

30
JOURS
SATISFAIT OU REMBOURSÉ

Essayez le casting ou le screen mirroring avec un VPN dès aujourd'hui, sans risque

Si vous n'êtes pas satisfait du streaming vidéo sur votre téléviseur grand écran avec ExpressVPN, bénéficiez simplement de notre garantie 30 jours satisfait ou remboursé et obtenez un remboursement complet.

S'abonner à ExpressVPN

How to screen mirror or cast to a TV with a VPN

Wirelessly stream VPN content on your big screen

Known as casting, mirroring, or by trademarked names like AirPlay, it all boils down to this: technology that lets you take images on your small-screen device and stream them wirelessly on your big-screen TV. This guide will show you how to get the content you have, on the screen you want—easily and with little or no extra setup or equipment.

30-day money-back guarantee

The best VPN for big-screen TV.

Mirroring vs. casting

Mirroring means projecting an exact copy of your small-screen device’s display on a big screen. Anything that you see on your device—toolbars, time and date, battery usage, etc.—will be presented on the TV, and usually, the device must be dedicated to that stream, with its screen active, and doing nothing else. There may also be a small lag between what you see on your device and what appears on your TV. If these limitations are not a problem for you, mirroring is most likely to work without a hitch. 

Casting, on the other hand, is a feature built in to many apps and operating systems that will allow you to project a stream while the device can still be used for something else, or even put to sleep. Image quality and speed may be better than with mirroring. But this functionality is not present for all apps and on all devices, and in a few cases, it may be actively disabled by the app maker or device manufacturer for business reasons.

AirPlay logo on a tv.

AirPlay

Perhaps the best known of these technologies, Apple’s AirPlay allows both mirroring and casting. It’s available on Apple devices (like Mac computers and iPhones and iPads running iOS), but also on apps like iTunes, so it can be used by Windows users as well. (Android users will need third-party software to use AirPlay.) Originally, you could AirPlay only to an Apple TV, but non-Apple smart TVs and other devices are increasingly being released with the ability to receive AirPlay signals built in.

Learn about mirroring with ExpressVPN and AirPlay on your Apple TV | LG | Samsung | Roku.

Chromecast logo on a TV.

Chromecast

A dongle that you plug into your TV, Google’s Chromecast is the most basic casting device—in a good way. Just set up a movie, game, song, or other media on your mobile device, tap a button, and it will cast to your TV. There’s no TV interface or remote control to deal with. Because any Android or iOS mobile app can be easily set up with the Chromecast casting ability by its developer, the number of compatible apps has grown fast. Chromecast also offers mirroring from Android and Windows devices. For higher resolutions and more advanced color technologies, opt for the Chromecast Ultra.

Learn about mirroring with ExpressVPN and Chromecast.

Roku logo on a TV.

Roku

With a huge number of compatible apps, Roku is one of the most powerful and affordable streaming devices. It comes as a box or a dongle that plugs into your TV’s HDMI port. Screens on Android and Windows devices can be mirrored to your TV via a Roku. If you’re watching content on an Android, Windows, or iOS device, you may be able to cast the program to the same app on Roku, if they’re compatible.

Learn about mirroring with ExpressVPN and Roku.

Amazon Fire TV logo on a TV.

Fire TV

Amazon’s Fire TV devices—including Fire TV Stick and Fire TV Cube—let you enjoy videos, music, games, and more through thousands of apps. Fire TV Stick supports screen mirroring from most Android devices. Users must first activate mirroring on Fire TV Stick, then activate their Android device’s mirroring function (if available), which is often called Miracast—but terminology varies across devices. Windows 10 also offers mirroring to Fire TV Stick through a similar method.

Learn about mirroring with ExpressVPN and Fire TV.

Android TV.

Android TV

Android TV, which is gradually being rebranded as Google TV, is an operating system for smart TVs and streaming consoles. If your device is based on Android TV, it can receive streams from other devices through a technology often called “Chromecast built-in.” Better yet, though: Any Android TV device can also install the ExpressVPN app, meaning you can get all the benefits of a VPN directly on that device, with no need to cast or mirror from another device at all.

Learn about using ExpressVPN with Android TV devices.

Miracast.

Miracast

Miracast is a wireless display technology developed by the Wi-Fi Alliance and used in many different smart TVs and streaming devices. The name varies by manufacturer: Samsung calls it AllShare, LG calls it Smart Share, Philips calls it Wireless Screencasting, and so on. Whatever the label, it’s designed to work exactly like a wireless HDMI cable, so any display shared via Miracast will be a mirror only. It’s not available via Apple devices (which use AirPlay instead), but Windows and Android devices are supported.

Find out whether your smart TV or device supports Miracast.

FAQ: Screen mirroring or casting to TV

Why mirror to your TV?
What if casting from my device won’t work?

Want the full power of ExpressVPN?

If you would like to enjoy maximum flexibility and convenience in streaming video on your big-screen TV, consider getting ExpressVPN on your wireless router. With just a little extra setup, you can extend the protection and power of an always-on VPN to every Wi-Fi-enabled device in your network—even ones that can’t install a VPN directly, like PlayStation, Xbox, or other gaming consoles.

And your options don’t stop there. Why not try a virtual router? A wired connection? Our exclusive MediaStreamer service, included free with every subscription? Learn all the ways to get ExpressVPN on your TV.

HBO Now series selection screen.

ExpressVPN is a VPN service not intended to be used as a means of copyright circumvention. Please read the ExpressVPN Terms of Service for more details.

Why streaming-video fans love ExpressVPN

User BRUCE JOHNSON recommending ExpressVPN for Chromecast.

I have used numerous VPN’s and did not like that they slowed my streaming down or crashed while I was in the middle of a Amazon purchase. Express is the best and I use it on my Iphone Ipad PC and Fire TV all for one low price.

Default avatar speech bubble.

Apart from the obvious uses like being able to discreetly surf without trading your digital freedom, for me, an English ex pat in the USA this vpn service allows me to watch U.K. tv, the only thing I really miss from home!

User PIOTR SADOWSKI recommending ExpressVPN for Chromecast.

Most of the time I am staying outside the US, but I love watching my favorite TV series. Express VPN enables me to do it wherever I am, and I do not have to worry about ‘This show is unavailable in your area’ information.

30
DAY
MONEY-BACK GUARANTEE

Try casting or screen mirroring with a VPN today, risk-free

If you’re not satisfied streaming video to your big-screen TV with ExpressVPN, simply take advantage of our 30-day money-back guarantee and get a full refund.

Get ExpressVPN