How to Permanently Delete Your Gmail Account

how to permanently delete your gmail account

Are you wondering how to permanently delete your Gmail account? If so, you’ve come to the right place. This article will tell you how to purge your Gmail account from the Internet forever.


Jump to…

What Happens When You Delete Your Gmail Account?
6 Things to Consider Before Deleting Your Gmail Account
How to Delete Your Gmail Account


What Happens When You Delete Your Gmail Account?

Deleting your Gmail account will delete all your emails and close your inbox.

Note: Emails will still exist in the email accounts of the people with whom you’ve corresponded, unless they too have deleted their email accounts.

If anybody tries to email you at that address after you’ve deleted the account, the email will bounce back.

bounced email screenshot

Oh no! An email from the MAILER DAEMON!

Back to top


6 Things to Consider Before Deleting Your Gmail Account

1. You will lose access to your account.

When you delete your Gmail account, you will no longer be able to send or receive email with that email address. Make sure to inform all relevant parties before shutting down your Gmail account.

2. You might lose access to 3rd party services associated with your Gmail account.

If your Gmail account is associated with any other accounts, you might have a bad time. Make sure you update your email address information with these accounts so you don’t encounter the following bad scenarios:

Bad scenario #1: Your Gmail account is associated with your social media accounts and you can’t reset your password or recover your account.

Even worse scenario #2: Your Gmail account is linked to your bank account. Three forms of ID and 14 hours of customer service calls later, you end up with a splitting migraine. Yikes!

3. You might want to download a backup of all your emails.

Before you hit the big red button and delete your Gmail account, you might want to download all of your data. Google has a great article to show you how to do this in their Google Accounts Help Center: How to download your data.

Unless, of course, your goal is to destroy every trace of it. Then by all means, fire away!

4. Deleting your Gmail account will not free up your username.

Nobody (including you) will be able to use your Gmail username (username@gmail.com) in the future. This ensures nobody can impersonate you at your old email account.

5. Deleting your Gmail account will not delete your Google Account.

Your Google Account will remain associated with things like your Search History and YouTube account.

6. It’s possible to recover your deleted Gmail account—but act fast!

Want to retrieve your deleted emails? You have a window of a few weeks to attempt to recover a deleted Gmail account. Find out how to recover a recently deleted Gmail account.

Phew! Okay. Still want to delete your Gmail account? Then read on!

Back to top


How to Delete Your Gmail Account

Sign in to your Google Account by going to myaccount.google.com and clicking Sign in.

sign in to your google account

Enter your Gmail credentials and click Sign in.

sign in with your username and password

On the My Account page, under Account Preferences, click Delete your account or services.

delete-account-services

Click Delete products.

click "delete products"

Re-enter your password, then click Sign in.

re-enter your password and sign in

Next to your Gmail account, click the trash can.

click the trash can!

Enter a new primary email address and your current password and click REMOVE GMAIL. (It’s the big red button!)

click the big red button!

You will see this message with instructions telling you to open your email. Click OK, got it.

tell them you get it

Open the Gmail Removal Confirmation email in your email. Click the confirmation link.

click the confirmation link

You will be asked to confirm that you want to remove your Gmail account by entering your password. Enter your password and click Confirm.

confirm it with your password

You will see a confirmation message like this:

here's your confirmation message

Congratulations! You have successfully deleted Gmail from your Google account.

Now you are free to start your new life under a new secret identity.

Back to top


Want more help with de-cluttering your online life? Check out our guides on:

> Deleting Chrome extensions

> Deleting Dropbox

> Deleting your Facebook account

> Deleting Facebook Messenger

> Deleting Find My iPhone, Find My iPad, and Find my Mac

Deleting your Google history

> Deleting your Google photos

> Deleting your hard drive browsing history

> Deleting your Instagram account

> Deleting your Internet Explorer history

> Deleting your Pokémon Go account

> Deleting Safari

> Deleting your Snapchat account

> Deleting your Tinder account

> Deleting your Twitter account

> Deleting WhatsApp Messenger

> Deleting your Yahoo Mail account

8 thoughts on “How to Permanently Delete Your Gmail Account

  1. This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved
    to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how
    you presented it. Too cool!

  2. But, the truth is that ninety five percent of the hair products
    are neither virgin nor Brazilian, Indian or Malaysian.

  3. BS on gmails part. I have to ahve another, non-gmail email account to get a notification to confirm deletion. What if I don’t have (or want) another email?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>